My 2013 in review.

It has certainly been a year.

Looking over this report, I feel really honored. I didn’t write nearly as much this year as I intended to. Between depression, PTSD, and trying to take care of myself, most days I simply didn’t have the emotional, physical, or mental energy to do so. But I’m pleased to see that I did write more than I wrote in 2012, which is progress at least. I fulfilled last year’s resolution, even if only in part.

I want to thank all of you who take the time to read my little blog. I’ve found such an amazing community through Twitter, Tumblr, Facebook, and blogging. You all have challenged me, supported me, changed me, and I am so grateful for you.

Perhaps 2014 will be a year in which I write even more, find even more freedom. Who knows? We’ll see where it takes us.

My top 5 posts this past year, according to WordPress:

  1. The body I have.

    I am fat.

    And for the first time in my young life…

    I am okay with that.

  2. Strange and unprepared.

    This is a conversation I don’t know how to have.

    How do I write about no longer identifying as a Christian in a way that won’t turn my entire world upside down?

  3. When something’s not okay: pondering reconciliation and relationship.

    Pattern of wrong behaviour with disregard to criticism + widespread or deep offense = no reconciliation for me. No forgiveness. We are not okay. It’s the relationship aspect that often throws a wrench in this formula for me.

  4. Of church, feminism, and safety.

    So until church in general stops doing things like choosing to believe the best about abusers rather than their victimstelling the lie that love is a choice that can be made regardless of emotional connectionforcing rape victims to confess sexual sin while forbidding them to talk about the rapetelling women that they can cause men to sin by existing in a female bodydemonizing men and women who divorce abusive spouses, and anything that values rules and regulations over people that the church is called to love with the tender love of Christ…I’ll be chilling out here, outside the walls where life is messy, I can set my own boundaries, and I can finally be safe.

  5. Of privilege in progressive circles.

    Just because I’m a good person, just because I’m progressive, just because I’m involved in working towards a better world, doesn’t mean that I am unaffected by privilege, exempt from critique, incapable of bearing responsibility for abusive behavior…or even incapable of being an asshat.

Click here to see the complete report, and thank you for making this possible.

Add your thoughts to the conversation.

